Meet the 2024 Cannes Film Festival jury, names might shock you!

The 77th edition of Festival de Cannes has a 9- member jury that will elect the film which will win the top prize, the coveted Palmed’Or.

The 77th edition of Festival de Cannes has a 9- member jury that will elect the film which will win the top prize, the coveted Palmed’Or.

The Cannes Film Festival is here! This time, the jubilee will choose another film for the coveted Palmed’Or from a competition lineup that includes Indian filmmaker Payal Kapadia’s All We Imagine as Light, Sean Baker’s Anora, and Yorgos Lanthimos ’ Kinds of Kindness among others. That decision rests on the competition jury, which is headed by pen- director Greta Gerwig this time. Let us meet the jury below!

Greta Gerwig: Greta has come the first womanish American director to serve as a Cannes jury chairman this time. Greta is the pen- director of three flicks, Lady Bird, Little Women, and last time’s blockbuster Barbie- all of which were nominated for Stylish Picture. Interestingly, Greta has noway shown a film at Cannes preliminarily.

Lily Gladstone: Lily Gladstone’s road to wide sun began at Cannes last time when she entered the loudest applause after the webbing of Martin Scorsese’s Killers of the Flower Moon. The actor went on to win a Golden Globe, Screen Actors council, and an Oscar nomination in the Stylish Actress order.

Omar Sy: The French actor starred in Mathieu Vadepied’s Father & Soldier, the opening film of the Un Certain Regard section at Cannes. The actor gained wide sun for his work in The Intouchables, for which he won the César for Stylish Actor.

Ebru Ceylan: Ebru Ceylan is theco-writer of the 2014 Palmed’Or- winning film Winter Sleep, which was directed by Nuri Bilge Ceylan. She first arrived at Cannes 26 times agone , when her first short film Kiyida( On the Edge), was named for the Short flicks Competition in 1998. Since also, she has served as aco-writer on several flicks by Nuri, including Three Monkeys, Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, and The Wild Pear Tree.

Nadine Labaki: The acclaimed director of Capernaum, Nadine Labaki is no foreigner to Cannes. Her film Where Do We Go Now? had its premiere at the 2011 Cannes Film Festival in the Un Certain Regard section. Capernaum arrived in 2028 and won the Jury Prize at Cannes. It was also nominated for the Best International Feature Film Oscar.

Juan Antonio Bayona: The Spanish director who directed the disaster drama The insolvable, starring Naomi Watts, broke out to transnational attention with his film Society of the Snow. The film was nominated for two Oscars Best International Feature Film, representing Spain, and Stylish Makeup and Hairstyling.

Eva Green: Eva is the star of numerous flicks, similar as Bernardo Bertolucci’s The romanticists, and Ridley Scott’s Kingdom of Heaven, while also playing a Bond woman in Casino Royale. She lately starred in the television series Penny Dreadful.

Pierfrancesco Favino: The Italian actor is one of the most hallowed actors of his generation, having lately won the Volpi Cup for Stylish Actor at the Venice Film Festival for Padrenostro in 2020. He’s all set to star in Pablo Larrain’s biopic Maria alongside Angelina Jolie.

Kore- eda Hirokazu: The acclaimed Japanese director has a long history with the jubilee, having premiered 9 of his flicks at Cannes. Last time, he’d Monster, which took home the Stylish script award. Kore- eda also won the Prize of the Ecumenical Jury at Cannes for another family drama, Broker, the Jury Prize for Like Father, Like Son, and the Palmed’Or for Shoplifters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *